TW200 Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
TW200 Forum

Forum for all TW200 Owners/enthusiasts

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Suggestions for first upgrades?

Go down 
+4
mudpuppy
mrgizmow1
Admiral
TWHoyt
8 posters
AuthorMessage
TWHoyt

Suggestions for first upgrades? Empty
PostSubject: Suggestions for first upgrades?   Suggestions for first upgrades? Empty8/22/2010, 8:15 pm

Hey all,
I'm new to riding and new to the TW. I have an '03 that is completey stock except for a cycleracks rear rack. What should be my first upgrades?

I'm also a pretty big guy and would like to be able to get a little more power out of this what should be the first upgrade I try for that?

If you guys have some ideas I would love to hear them.

Thanks
Jason
Back to top Go down
Admiral
Admiral

PostSubject: Re: Suggestions for first upgrades?   Suggestions for first upgrades? Empty8/22/2010, 9:00 pm

There are so many options when it comes to upgrading or improving the TW. I'm not an engine guy, so I'll leave the suggestions to those that have done that type of thing.

Some of the minor upgrades I have seen that are reasonable in cost: different handlebars or adding handlebar risers, larger foot pegs, D2 motors is one suggestion and you can get them from this site http://www.d2moto.com/p-6736-yamaha-pw-50-80-tw-200-foot-pegs.aspx, plus I have seen them on ebay for the same price. I have yet to get a pair, but am going too. I hear they are a real plus. Many upgrade the front tire, lot of different options. Most do not like the stock front and look for a change.

Some other riders do some more radical changes to the front suspension and raising the front fender. Another upgrade is adding a trail tech speedometer/tachometer/temp gauge combination. I'll be doing the Vapor model, other models are available.